With Just A Hint Of Mayhem

Music trivia, useless info, extra added random stuff and the odd rant from me

“another day older and deeper in debt….” February 13, 2009


1, 2, 3, 4 dun dur dun, dun dur dun etc. What the bloody hell was that I can hear you say? well I just fancied beginning todays blog just like the Ramones started all their songs mainly because I wanted to add “Sheena Is A Punk Rocker” to todays post and there is no “on this day” Ramones news for today as far as I’m aware. Play it, pogo around the office, kitchen, bus, train, coffee bar, internet cafe, toilet or shed and enjoy! If I could have been in any band in the world ever I think I would have picked the Ramones, Billy Ramone sounds kind of ok too 🙂

Here are da brudders with one of my heroes.....Homer Simpson

Here are da brudders with one of my heroes.....Homer Simpson

Also I hope that all you triskaidekophobics have been ok today and nothing bad has befallen you.

OK back to the usual stuff you’ve come to know and love dear friends and readers. Starting with those birthdays. Firstly it’s my Mum’s birthday today, she is 73, Happy Birthday Mum 🙂

Tennessee Ernie Ford would have been 90 today, but sadly he died nearly 20 years ago. He was responsible for giving Capitol Records their first number one of the rock era in the US with the song “Sixteen Tons” It was number one in the US in 1955 and in the UK in 1956, now that was even before I was born, so that is REALLY old!

Tennessee or Mr Ford to you, but to me.......Ernie

Tennessee or Mr Ford to you, but to me.......Ernie

second up on the aging fast stakes, well he’s older than me anyway, is Mr Peter Gabriel who is 59 today. I suppose he’ll be going out for a Lamb Bhuna and a skinful in New York and then lying down on Broadway. (such an appaling reference, is anyone reading this warped enough to get it I wonder?) my favourite Peter Gabriel song is “Solsbury Hill” I also preferred Genesis with Gabriel at the helm as opposed to the bloody singing drummer!. The song is actually all about Gabriels departure from the band. The video for Gabriel’s song Sledgehammer was co produced by Aardman Animations who later went on to massive worldwide success with Wallace and Gromit. Peter also won a grammy for his soundtrack to the Scorcese movie “The Last Temptation Of Christ” which bizarrely starred David Bowie as Pontius Pilate. I’m am one of Bowie’s biggest fans, but he’s certainly no actor, well not in my opinion anyway, apart from perhaps “The Man Who Fell To Earth” in which he pretty much played himself!

Flower Power - Peter Gabriel in the costume he used to wear for "Supper's Ready" from Foxtrot, taken from a show in 72/73

Flower Power - Peter Gabriel in the costume he used to wear for "Supper's Ready" from Foxtrot, taken from a show in 72/73

Today, February 13th, is also the 53rd birthday of Peter Hook, most well known as a member of Joy Division and New Order (also Revenge and Monaco). He was also married to actress/ comedienne Caroline Aherne. I reckon he’s a damned good bass player too. Supposedly he is currently working on a new band project called Freebass with bass players Mani (The Stone Roses/ Primal Scream and Andy Rourke (The Smiths). Recently he has also performed as a DJ; though numerous videos recorded of him live show him doing nothing more than allegedly playing a free CD included in Mixmag, a DJ magazine.For me and especially as it is Valentines Day tomorrow and this song was number two in the NME’s list of alternative love songs this week, here is “Love Will Tear Us Apart” by the wonderful and late great Joy Division.

Hooky effecting the classic low slung bass player pose!

Hooky effecting the classic low slung bass player pose!

And finally, for the birthdays at least it is the birthday of one of my least favourite artists, ladies and gentlemen I give you Mr Robbie Williams who is 35 today. In my opinion Robbie is a highly overrated and untalented George Michael wannabe (words crossed out on advice from my legal team) This part of the blog does not necessarily reflect my opinion ok, I really do not like Mr Williams. But I know that many of you do, so here he is with what in my opinion is an awful song, why do people love bloody “Angels” so much? Anyway just click on the song title to hear the “fat dancer from Take That” (copyright Noel Gallagher) sing the song live at Knebworth. When Robbie released the “Rudebox” single in 2006, the British tabloid paper The Sun called it “The Worst Song Ever” and as much as it pains me to say it about such a vile publication I agree with them. To finish Robbie off (now there’s a thought) did you know that when Take That broke up after Robbie left them they announced the split on Robbie’s 24th birthday?

Robbie in his Bill Oddie disguise

Robbie in his Bill Oddie disguise

On this day 1974 David Bowie (yes that’s two Bowie references in one day……yippeee!) turned down an offer from the Gay Liberation group to compose “the worlds first Gay National Anthem” Whatever it was it would have been more exciting than the current British national anthem, that is soooooo dull. Actually I bet a lot of you didn’t know this but Scotland, Ireland and Wales all have their own National anthem but England does it. Maybe we should have a vote on what it should be, my vote goes to “God save The Queen” by the Sex Pistols, what do you think?

The excellent Jamie Reid cover art for the Pistols "God Save The Queen"

The excellent Jamie Reid cover art for the Pistols "God Save The Queen"

So to finish we go to yet another Bowie reference, but this time it’s the superb Flight Of The Concords with the hilarious “Bowie” click n laugh!

 

Leave a Reply

