With Just A Hint Of Mayhem

Music trivia, useless info, extra added random stuff and the odd rant from me

“I need help ladies and gentlemens I need someone to stand beside me” October 10, 2011


I watched the classic Peter Sellers movie ‘Being There’ for the first time in years yesterday. I went out and bought the DVD at the weekend following a chance (no pun intended to fans of said movie!) conversation at work last week.

My memory of the film was always that it was quite deep, funny, emotional, spiritual and very well written and acted. On this occasion
my memory has certainly not failed me, this is truly a classic film, featuring in my opinion Peter Sellers finest performance. The supporting cast is equally accomplished too.

If you haven’t seen it I will try to describe it simply and with no spoilers. Sellers plays a character known as Chancey Gardener, who in
fact is just a gardener…… or is he? It seems that everything he knows he has learnt in the garden or from watching TV. His simple, yet powerful thoughts on life in relation to gardening can be seen as the ramblings of a slow-witted person or something much more profound. Personally I’d opt for the profound.

If you haven’t seen this film yet then I would strongly recommend that you do. If you come away from watching it not feeling better
than you did before then you really are hard-hearted.

It’s not a musical but I felt able to include it in my music blog simply because of its excellent use of two seminal 70s tracks, the latter
of which is one of my all time favourites. If you have already seen this film or have watched it on my recommendation I would love to hear you opinions on it.

 

3 Responses to ““I need help ladies and gentlemens I need someone to stand beside me””

  1. What a brilliant movie and an amazing performance by Peter Sellers.

  2. W. Beal Says:

    Just saw the movie for the first time yesterday myself. Sellers played it as only he could have. But also not to be out-done, was Shirley McClain. Great film. The ending makes you wonder if he may have been playing some sort of trick?


Leave a Reply

