With Just A Hint Of Mayhem

Music trivia, useless info, extra added random stuff and the odd rant from me

“I’ll Hold you close in my arms I can’t resist your charms” December 5, 2011


It’s December 5th folks, that’s now less than three weeks until the bearded weirdo in red arrives. That also means that it is now Day 5 of my ABC of Motown Advent Calendar and we’re up to the letter E. I have chosen a very popular song that actually is not really one of my own favourites. It’s “Endless Love” which was written by Lionel Richie who recorded it as a duet with Diana Ross. It was used as the theme tune to the Brooke Shields film of the same name.

It has been covered by many people, most notably, again as a duet, by Mariah Carey and Luther Vandross. The original was an US and Australian number one and reached number 7 in the UK. The Vandross Carey version only reached the chart summit in New Zealand. It reached numbers 2 and 3 respectively in the US and UK charts. Billboard once named the song as the greatest duet ever, I certainly don’t agree with that. What about Simon & Garfunkel’s “Bridge Over Troubled Water” or Queen and David Bowie’s “Under Pressure”? (OK technically the latter isn’t really a duet unless you count it just as a Bowie Mercury duet)

So tell me dear readers what do you think is the greatest duet of all time?

 

3 Responses to ““I’ll Hold you close in my arms I can’t resist your charms””

  1. soso Says:

    Endless love is the most successful duet of all time. So sublime.

    • justwilliam1959 Says:

      SoSublime

      Thanks for the comment

      It may well be the most successful duet of all time, but I definitely preferred Lionel Richie before he went, in my view, a litlle too sickly sweet. Give me almost anything the Commodores did pre Three Times A Lady any day 🙂

      Cheers

      Bill

  2. […] = ''; } Thanksgiving in ZuccottiBaby, Baby All the Time“I’ll Hold you close in my arms I can’t resist your charms”Thanksgiving in ZuccottiBaby, Baby All the Time“I’ll Hold you close in my […]


Leave a Reply

