With Just A Hint Of Mayhem

Music trivia, useless info, extra added random stuff and the odd rant from me

“Who put fifty tons of shit on the Foreign Office roof?” May 3, 2012

Filed under: Observation — justwilliam1959 @ 3:51 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

Do you ever get the feeling that some days are just going to be crap days? I don’t get that feeling much at all, however yesterday was one of them. I parked my car the usual 5 minute walk from the office and started walking. It was a typical British spring day in that it was bloody cold. So I had my raincoat on with the collar up. Why did I have the collar up? Actually it was to keep the wind off me, although I don’t mind rocking that FBI agent look occasionally. Anyway it turns out I was lucky to have my collar up, for halfway to the office I heard and felt an almighty splash on my shoulder and the back of my neck.

Yes I had been shat on from a great height and judging from the volume of shit it was either a really large bird or a flock that had practised synchronised defecation. But because my collar was up every last drop stayed on my raincoat, otherwise it would have been right down the back of my shirt collar. It was quite obvious that I had been used as a bird toilet (or bird bathroom for my US readers) but still two people stopped me and said “Do you know you’ve got bird shit on you?”

The footnote is that when I arrived back at the car to go home it had been bombed with two of the largest dollops of bird shit I have ever seen. Still I suppose we should be thankful that elephants can’t fly, well apart from Dumbo anyway. Incidentally whilst it was a moderately crappy day for me, it was nowhere near as bad as the birds had perhaps tried to indicate.

So as I have said many times before, so how can I bring this post back to music I hear you ask. relatively easy really, take some time out, especially if you’ve had a shitty day, to enjoy “Pigeons” by Genesis

So yes, let’s be thankful that elephants can’t fly!

 

2 Responses to ““Who put fifty tons of shit on the Foreign Office roof?””

  1. Oh dear – what a day! Like the picture of the pigeon with the book. One got caught in my hair once – I don’t know who was more panicked, the pigeon or me!

    • justwilliam1959 Says:

      Thankfully the chances of anything ever getting caught in my hair these days is long gone. Just like my hair in fact!


Leave a Reply

