With Just A Hint Of Mayhem

Music trivia, useless info, extra added random stuff and the odd rant from me

“From the family tree of old school hip hop, kick off your shoes and relax your socks” May 4, 2012

Filed under: News — justwilliam1959 @ 9:35 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have some sad news to report, some of you may know this already, Adam Yauch or MCA of the Beastie Boys passed away earlier today. He finally lost his battle with cancer aged just 47. I believe that the Beastie Boys were among a handful of really groundbreaking acts of their generation paving the way for white rap and legions of rock/ rap crossovers.

On top of all that they were also the people who really kick started the awareness and promotion of a free Tibet. They are on the Chinese governments undesirable list. That to me says that they did things really well. Many people will remember Adam and the rest of the group for the controversies of their early years. I will remember them as a classic act who were not afraid to use their position to influence the world around them.

My thoughts are with Adam’s family, friends, fans and especially Mike D and Ad-Rock. Take some time out to enjoy some of my favourite Beastie Boy tracks in memory of Adam Yauch. RIP MCA.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qORYO0atB6g&ob=av2e

 

2 Responses to ““From the family tree of old school hip hop, kick off your shoes and relax your socks””

  1. cerebus660 Says:

    Such a shame – he was far too young 😦

    I’ve been playing a few Beasties tracks tonight, remembering what a great band they became, after they were first dismissed by many as a flash in the pan. And what cool videos they put out!
    Check out this link for all of Paul’s Boutique:

    • justwilliam1959 Says:

      Strangely enough ‘Paul’s Boutique’ was the first album I picked to play when I heard the news. He was way too young. He was 6 years younger than me, which makes me think that living each day as if it’s your last has to be the right philosophy! So today I will fight for my right to party!


Leave a Reply

