With Just A Hint Of Mayhem

Music trivia, useless info, extra added random stuff and the odd rant from me

“A radio and phonograph, Charlie Chaplin made us laugh” November 7, 2012

Filed under: News — justwilliam1959 @ 6:32 pm
Tags: , , , ,

OK I know he may not have been a musical superstar but I was saddened by the news that Clive Dunn has died. He was aged 92, so not a bad innings compared to some. If your one of the baby boomer generation in the UK, like me, you will remember that he played Lance Corporal Jones in the classic comedy ‘Dad’s Army‘. Who can forget the refrain of “Don’t panic Mr Mainwaring” or “They don’t like it up ’em”.

Clive also had the UK Christmas number one with “Grandad” in 1970. The interesting thing for me is that I always thought he was much older, largely because of the parts he played. In fact he was only 50 when he was on top of the charts. That is younger than I am now. My thoughts go out to his family, friends and all his fans. RIP Clive Dunn.

 

Leave a Reply

