With Just A Hint Of Mayhem

Music trivia, useless info, extra added random stuff and the odd rant from me

“I ain’t hidin’ from nobody. Nobody’s hidin’ from me” July 29, 2013


jjcalepic

Most readers of my blog are probably already aware of the loss of one of musics great innovators. J J Cale passed away a few days ago aged 74. His career began in the late 50s and he never really stopped. He played on Eric Clapton’s new album ‘Old Sock’. Personally I didn’t know much about J J until I heard Clapton’s cover of his song “Cocaine“. Clapton also covered Cale’s “After Midnight“.

JJ+Cale

Cale received a writing credit on the track “Run” from my favourite Spiritualized album ‘Lazer Guided Melodies’. Largely because it is a cover of J J Cale’s “Call Me The Breeze” with some extra lyrical content. Cale was an early user of drum machines. Neil Young, no slouch in the guitar skills department himself, once said that the two greatest electric guitar players were J J Cale and Jimi Hendrix.

251202250638

My thoughts are with J J’s family, friends and fans across the world. RIP J J Cale.

 

Leave a Reply

