With Just A Hint Of Mayhem

Music trivia, useless info, extra added random stuff and the odd rant from me

“Above us only sky” January 24, 2015

Filed under: Observation,Rants — justwilliam1959 @ 11:44 am
Tags: , , , ,

lennon-fisheye

I really can’t bear John Lennon’s “Imagine” although I am a big fan of much of what Lennon has recorded solo and with the Beatles. I believe this dislike of “Imagine” puts me in a minority so I was very pleased to come across someone else who doesn’t like it. None other than the brilliant John Cooper-Clarke.

images

He says ‘I regret ever hearing it in the first place. It’s nausea-inducing. The shallow sentimentality of it is ghastly. When I heard it I thought, maybe he’s just never been any good’. He goes on ‘I love the Beatles and John is one of the great voices, so it’s tragic that he should put his name to such drivel. The fact that it’s Britain’s number one song is suicide-inducing’

AzhhAfq

Very well said in my opinion Mr Cooper-Clarke. How many you agree or disagree or don’t really give a crap about it?

16598_full

 

3 Responses to ““Above us only sky””

  1. Tom Says:

    Disagree Bill. I must be missing something. Having said that I can’t really play it anymore. I think I have over played it, or perhaps I am just not admitting it to myself? What do you think?

  2. cassetteman Says:

    I’m with you and JCC on this. I can’t stand the song. I’m not a fan of Lennon as a solo artist in general to be honest.


Leave a Reply

